Skip navigation

Scholars crucial to solving nation’s challenges

21 July 2022
Sir Roland Wilson and Pat Turner scholars with Treasurer the Hon Dr Jim Chalmers MP

Treasurer the Hon Dr Jim Chalmers MP has told Sir Roland Wilson and Pat Turner scholars their expertise is needed now more than ever.

In his keynote address to the 2022 Scholar Symposium on Wednesday 20 July, Dr Chalmers spoke to scholars about the challenges facing the nation, including falling real wages and flatlining productivity, downgrades to economic growth, food and energy insecurity, climate change and global tensions.

“We need you now more than ever. We need all of your effort and energy and talent. All your ideas and experiences and expertise,” Dr Chalmers said.

“I know how fortunate we are as a country to have people of your calibre willing to front up and skill up to become the next generation of very senior policy makers and shapers in our system.

“I find that genuinely exciting. It gives me great confidence. You don’t get a Sir Roland Wilson Scholarship without being seen as the future of the public service, people who are worth investing in.”

Sir Roland Wilson and Pat Turner scholars are gathering on campus at The Australian National University (ANU) for the 2022 Scholar Symposium.

Sir Roland Wilson Foundation Chair Dr Martin Parkinson AC PSM said Dr Chalmers’ address set the scene for two days of robust discussion and debate on tough policy challenges.

“The 2022 Scholar Symposium focuses on the broad challenges faced by the Australian Public Service (APS) and the role that Sir Roland Wilson and Pat Turner scholars will play in providing leadership and trusted expertise to assist the national recovery,” Dr Parkinson said.

The two-day symposium will see scholars hear from leaders in parliament, the APS and academia, including:

  • The Hon Dr Jim Chalmers MP, Treasurer of Australia
  • Professor Deborah Blackman, Head of School and Professor of Public Sector Management, UNSW Canberra
  • Dr Subho Banerjee, Deputy CEO (Research and Advisory), Australia and New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG)
  • Professor Ariadne Vromen, Bunting Chair of Public Administration, ANZSOG
  • Mr Tim McCluskey, Government Engagement Manager, LinkedIn
  • Mr Shane Hoffman, Senior Adviser, First Peoples Program and Strategies, ANZSOG
  • Ms Katrina Fanning PSM, Secretariat for the Coalition of Peaks
  • Mr Ian Bartholomew, Branch Manager, Closing the Gap, National Indigenous Australians Agency
  • Professor Helen Sullivan, Dean of the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific
  • Ms Jody Broun, Chief Executive Officer, National Indigenous Australians Agency
  • Mr David Thodey AO, Australian business leader
  • Professor Gordon de Brouwer PSM, Secretary for Public Sector Reform

Read more about the Sir Roland Wilson Foundation. Stay up to date by following us on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

The Sir Roland Wilson Foundation is a partnership between The Australian National University, Charles Darwin University and the Australian Public Service.