Skip navigation

Our scholars and alumni

Deborah Katona
SRW Pat Turner Scholarship 2019

Deborah Katona

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Charles Darwin University

Master of Public Policy

Deborah currently works at the National Indigenous Australians Agency. She more than 15 years’ experience in the APS, working in contract management, policy and coordination roles. Her most recent position was working in the Indigenous Affairs Group of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, overseeing delivery in the East Kimberley.

Deborah will complete a Master of Public Policy at Charles Darwin University. The Master of Public Policy is designed with a focus on northern contexts that will provide a strong theoretical and practical understanding of the design, implementation and evaluation of public policy in remote, regional, Indigenous and northern contexts.

Dr Therese Keane
SRW Scholarship 2019


Therese Keane

Department of Defence

Australian National University

PhD title: Development of new detection methods for novel viruses, serotyping for pathogens of concern, using third generation sequencing techniques and the development of bespoke bioinformatic tools.

Therese joined the Defence Science and Technology Organisation (now Group) in 1999. She has helped design, develop and deliver science and technology outcomes to the Austalian Defence Force, which are critical for ensuring capability relevance is maintained in an increasingly complex, ambiguous environment. During that time, she expanded her professional skills by undertaking further biotechnology study, combining a personal passion with improving her ability to contribute to ADF and whole of government options in this rapidly evolving field.

Therese’s doctoral research will investigate new genetic sequencing technologies and complimentary development of bioinformatic tools to improve discovery and monitoring of pathogenic, emerging and engineered viruses of national security concern. These improved capabilities will be critical in informing policy and response development for known and emerging pathogens, contributing to the whole-of-government ability to avert catastrophic bioterrorism events or minimise their impact.

Professor David Tscharke
The Sir Roland Wilson Foundation is a partnership between The Australian National University, Charles Darwin University and the Australian Public Service.